

Delivered electronically: June 12, 2024

Dear Governor Murphy, Senate President Scutari, Assembly Speaker Coughlin, and Legislators,

As Mayors representing over 1.2 million residents across New Jersey, we are deeply concerned about the financial challenges facing our communities and the impact of corporate tax breaks on our ability to provide essential services to our constituents. While our towns and cities grapple with increasing costs and budget constraints, it is imperative that we address the issue of corporate tax breaks that further strain our resources, public infrastructure, and ability to meet the needs of our residents.

One glaring example of this disparity is the situation facing NJ Transit, which serves as a critical lifeline for millions of New Jerseyans. Without a stable source of revenue, NJ Transit faces the looming threat of catastrophic service cuts, which would have devastating consequences for our constituents' quality of life, the resilience of our local communities, and the broader state economy. The New Jersey Urban Mayors Association (NJUMA) has already called for the extension of the corporate business tax surcharge and the dedication of its revenue to NJ Transit as a crucial step in ensuring the agency's continued operation and the well-being of our communities.

However, the issue of corporate tax breaks extends far beyond NJ Transit. While our constituents face rising costs for transportation and basic necessities, it is unjustifiable that wealthy, multinational corporations continue to receive tax breaks that further exacerbate the financial burden on our towns and cities.

We urge you and the Legislature to support the Corporate Transit Fee and work to reinstate the full corporate surcharge. By ensuring wealthy corporations pay what they owe, and directing revenue towards essential services like NJ Transit, we can build a stronger and more resilient New Jersey that works for all residents, not just the wealthy few.

Thank you for your attention to this critical issue. We stand ready to work with you to enact meaningful change that benefits all New Jerseyans and ensures a brighter future for our communities.

Linda Karlovitch, Kenilworth

Sincerely,

Mayors

Frieda Adjmi, *Allenhurst* Lori Hohenleitner, Atlantic Highlands James M. Davis, Bayonne Michael Melham, Belleville Angie D. Devanney, *Berkeley* Heights Dominic Longo, Bound Brook Carolyn Dempsey, Chatham Borough Stacey Ewald, Chatham Township Janice Kovach, Clinton Town Jason F. Cilento, Dunellen Colleen Mahr, Fanwood Jen Blumenstock, Garwood Debbie Mans, Glen Ridge Jim Van Arsdale, *Green Brook* Jeff Martin, Hamilton Michele Lee, High Bridge Ravi Bhalla, Hoboken Steven Fulop, Jersey City Carol Jean Doyle, Kearny

Andrew J. Nowick, Lambertville Derek Armstead, Linden Al Anthony, Livingston Robert H Conley, Madison Nancy Adams, Maplewood Sean M. Spiller, *Montclair* Mayor-Elect Dr. Renee Baskerville, Montclair Donna Guariglia, Morris Township Timothy Dougherty, *Town of* Morristown Ras J. Baraka, Newark Adrian O. Mapp, *Plainfield City* William Portman, Red Bank James Spango, Roseland Donald A. Shaw, Roselle Josh Losardo, Scotch Plains Sheena Collum, South Orange W. Reed Gusciora, Trenton Susan McCartney, West Orange Shelley Brindle, Westfield

Council Members

Karol Ruiz, *Dover*, 3rd Ward Sandra Wittner, *Dover*, 1st Ward Denise Wilkerson, *Roselle*, At-large

County Executive Dan Benson, *Mercer County*

Passed Resolutions

Commissioner Kathleen Miller Prunty and the *Cranford Township Council*

Commissioner Brendan Gill and the Essex County Board of Commissioners

Commissioner Chair Kimberly
Palmieri-Mouded and the *Union*County Board of Commissioners